Print  Print © 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Raleigh Hot Stove Banquet
01/12/2009 3:01 PM ET
The Raleigh Hot Stove League will stage its 59th annual banquet Tuesday January 27th at the McKimmon Center on the NC State University campus in Raleigh. A silent auction will begin at 5:30pm with the banquet to follow at 6:30pm.

Matt Silverman, team president of the American League champion Tampa Bay Rays, will be the featured speaker. Silverman has directed the Rays to their greatest success in his three seasons at the helm. Don Zimmer, previously announced as principal speaker, had to withdraw for personal reasons.

Texas Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton will receive the Will Wynne Award, the organizations honor for the greatest contribution to baseball in the previous season. Hamilton led the American League with 130 runs batted in and 331 total bases. He hit .304 with 32 homers.Hamilton shared the award last year with Indians pitching coach Carl Willis.( Hamilton is not expected to attend this year's banquet.)

Appalachian League President Lee Landers will receive the Willie Duke Lifetime Achievement Award. Mr. Landers has guided the league since 1996 after service as a minor league general manager and as a trainer.

University of North Carolina first baseman Dustin Ackley repeats as the organization's College Player of the Year. Ackley hit .417 to lead the Tar Heels to their third consecutive trip to the College World Series in Omaha.

Mt. Olive College Coach Carl Lancaster will receive the Mills Love of the Game Award after guiding his team the NCAA Division II national championship. The team will also be honored with the Board of Directors Special Achievement Award.

Another Board of Directors Special Achievement Award will go to the West Raleigh 10U Cal Ripken World Series champions.

High school honors go to Fuquay-Varina High School teammates Cameron Connor and Kevin Brandt. Connor is currently playing at NC State, while Brandt is at East Carolina. Bob Sutton, sports editor of the Burlington Times News, will be honored with the annual Media Award.

Tickets are on sale at Durham Bulls Athletic Park, Five County Stadium in Zebulon, Johnson Lambe Sporting Goods in Raleigh's Cameron Village, and at the PR Store on Fall of the Neuse Road in North Raleigh. Individual tickets are priced at $35.

This story was not subject to the approval of the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues or its clubs.